Local MPs Team up over Schools Funding Timebomb

Solihull and Meriden MPs Lorely Burt and Caroline Spelman have met with a government minister to call for fairer funding for Solihull schools.

Lorely Burt MP joined with Meriden’s MP & Solihull councillors seeking fairer funding for Solihull schools

The current funding formula sees Solihull schools £981 per pupil worse off than schools in Birmingham.

Conservative and Liberal Democrat councillors and activists joined the two MPs at the Department for Education to lobby the Minister of State for School Reform, Nick Gibb, to take action.

Birmingham schools can use their extra funding to tempt away Solihull’s best teachers with heftier pay packets. Despite this schools in Solihull attract over 6,000 pupils from Birmingham while just 200 pupils living in Solihull go to Birmingham schools.

The MPs and their colleagues believe this rising pressure will become unsustainable within a few years if the government does not move soon.

The government announced a £350 million package last year to help areas with under-funded schools, but this will raise per-pupil funding in Solihull by just £49 a year.

Mrs Burt said

“Teachers in Solihull do a fantastic job with what they have but the system is not fair on them or on local kids.

“The huge spillover of pupils from Birmingham into Solihull just shows that the current funding formula isn’t working as it’s supposed to.

“Our local kids’ schools need a fair share of funding now, before it’s too late.”


Photograph shows (left to right): Cllr Ian Courts (Solihull Council, Economic Development & Land Cabinet Member); Chris Palmer (Solihull Council, Learning & Achievement Service Director); Cllr Joe Tildesley (Solihull Council, Education, Skills & Culture Cabinet Member); Caroline Spelman MP (Meriden); Cllr Norman Davies (Solihull Lib Dem Education Spokesman); Nick Gibb MP (Minister of State for School Reform); Lorely Burt MP (Solihull); Julian Knight (Conservative Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for Solihull)

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.